SaaSInsightBrowse reviews
AI search visibility

Semrush AI Toolkit vs Ahrefs Brand Radar

Updated August 2026

Semrush bundles AI visibility into its plans, at 50 daily prompts from $165.17 a month. Ahrefs includes Brand Radar from $129 but allows only 5 tracked prompts, so real tracking means a package from $50 on top. Semrush is the better bundle. Ahrefs prices volume more honestly.

Both tools are assessed against the same criteria, scored before any commercial conversation. How we rank.

Semrush's AI Toolkit is not a product you buy on its own; it is bundled into the plans. Ahrefs' Brand Radar is both, sold inside every Ahrefs plan and standalone from $199 with a free Ahrefs account. For most readers the useful question is still the narrow one: if you already pay one of these companies, has that already bought you AI tracking?

For Semrush customers the answer is usually yes. Prompt tracking is bundled into the plans, at 50 prompts a day on Starter, 100 on Pro+ and 200 on Advanced. There is no add-on to buy and nothing to cancel.

For Ahrefs customers the answer looks like yes and mostly is not. Brand Radar is listed as included from the $129 Lite plan, but the prompt allowance that comes with it is 5 tracked prompts, rising to 10 on Standard and 20 on Advanced. That is a taster. Actual tracking is bought separately, either as custom prompt packages from $50 a month or as Brand Radar AI standalone from $199.

So the bundled allowances differ by an order of magnitude: 50 daily prompts on a $165 Semrush plan against 5 on a $129 Ahrefs plan. That single row decides this page for most people.

Ahrefs is better in one respect that matters more than it sounds. It tells you exactly what a unit is. One check is one prompt, on one platform, in one location, and overage is priced openly at $0.020 down to $0.010 per check. Semrush says "50 prompts to track daily" and its pricing page does not state how many platforms that covers, so the same number may not mean the same thing.

Prices read off both vendors' own pages on 24 August 2026. Our own earlier note of a $398 Brand Radar add-on matches nothing published on Ahrefs' site today, and we cannot evidence what changed or when, so this page states only what is currently published.

The short answer

Semrush AI Toolkit logo

Semrush AI Toolkit

Pick Semrush AI Toolkit if Pick Semrush if you are already a Semrush customer, or if you want AI tracking without a second thing to manage. Fifty daily prompts come with the Starter plan, so for one brand in one market you are already covered and there is nothing further to buy.

Where it falls short: The pricing page does not say how many platforms a tracked prompt covers, so you cannot work out what 50 daily prompts buys before subscribing. More volume means moving up a whole plan, and API access waits until the $455.67 tier.

From
$165.17/mo
Free plan
No
Ahrefs Brand Radar logo

Ahrefs Brand Radar

Pick Ahrefs Brand Radar if Pick Ahrefs if you are already inside Ahrefs and want to buy exactly the prompt volume you need. Its unit is defined precisely, overage is published per check, and the 472M prompt database behind it is the best data provenance any vendor in this category will state.

Where it falls short: The prompt allowance included with a plan is 5, 10 or 20, which is a demonstration rather than a tracker. Anything real means a package from $50 a month on top of a plan from $129, so budget both lines.

From
$129/mo
Free plan
No

Side by side

 Semrush AI ToolkitAhrefs Brand Radar
How AI tracking is soldBundled into the plan; nothing extra to buy or cancelBrand Radar is in the plan, but usable prompt volume is a separate purchase
Prompts included at the entry plan50 daily on Starter ($165.17/mo annual)5 tracked prompts on Lite ($129/mo), 10 on Standard, 20 on Advanced
Entry cost for workable AI tracking$165.17/mo annual, $199 monthly$129/mo plus a prompt package from $50/mo, so about $179
What one unit means"50 prompts to track daily"; platform coverage not stated on the pricing page1 check is one prompt, one platform, one location, defined openly
Buying more volumeChange plan: 100 daily at $248.17, 200 at $455.67Buy a package: $50 for 2,500 checks, $100 for 7,000, $250 for 25,000
OverageNot published$0.020, $0.015 or $0.010 per check by package
Research corpus behind itAI visibility reports for any domain472M+ monthly prompts, itemised by platform
Seats1 included, additional from $45/mo1 included, additional $40 to $80/mo by plan
Programmatic accessMCP access from Starter; API data integration on Advanced at $455.67API access and MCP Server listed from Lite; uncapped API at Enterprise
What else the subscription buysThe Semrush SEO suite you are already inThe Ahrefs backlink index you are already in

The question this page cannot answer for you

Neither of these is competing only with the other. Both are competing with a dedicated tracker, and on tracking alone a dedicated tracker usually wins. Peec AI is $80 a month with unlimited seats and daily refresh. Otterly.AI is $29. Either will out-track the bundled allowance on an Ahrefs plan without much effort.

What the suites give you instead is one bill, one login, and AI visibility sitting next to the keyword and backlink data you already look at. For a small team that is worth real money in attention saved, and it is the honest reason to stay inside the suite even when a specialist tool would track more prompts for less.

The test is simple. Count the prompts you actually want tracked. Under about twenty and inside Ahrefs, buy a $50 package and stay put. Fifty or more and inside Semrush, you already have it. Fifty or more and inside Ahrefs, price a dedicated tracker before you buy the third prompt package, because you have left the range where the bundle is the cheap answer.

What we did not test

We priced and specified both from the vendors' published pages. We did not run the same prompt set through both products, which is the only way to compare the quality of what comes back rather than the quantity of it. Any claim about which one reports more accurately would be invention, and we have not made one.

Our best AEO tools ranking covers both alongside ten dedicated trackers, if the answer turns out to be neither.

Frequently asked questions

If I already pay for Semrush, do I need a separate AI visibility tool?

Usually not, at least to begin with. Every current Semrush plan from Starter up includes daily prompt tracking, 50 a day at $165.17 a month annually, 100 at Pro+ and 200 at Advanced, plus AI sentiment monitoring and AI visibility reports for any domain. For a team tracking one brand in one market that is a workable tracker at no extra cost. You would move to a dedicated tool when you need more prompts than your tier allows, more than one domain, or programmatic access to the data below the Advanced plan.

Is Brand Radar included in my Ahrefs plan or not?

Both, and the distinction is the whole point. Brand Radar itself appears in the feature list from the $129 Lite plan, so you can open it and research brands across Ahrefs' prompt database. What is not included is meaningful tracking of your own prompts: Lite comes with 5 tracked prompts, Standard 10 and Advanced 20. To track a real prompt set you add a custom prompt package, from $50 a month for 2,500 checks, or take Brand Radar AI standalone from $199, which comes with a free Ahrefs account rather than requiring a paid plan. Reading "Brand Radar" on the feature list and concluding you are covered is the mistake this page exists to prevent.

What is a check, and how many do I need?

Ahrefs defines it precisely: tracking one prompt, on one platform, in one location, uses one check. So 20 prompts across 2 platforms daily is 40 checks a day, about 1,200 a month, inside the $50 Basic package of 2,500. Their own example puts 100 prompts daily on 2 platforms in the $100 Growth package. The multiplication is what catches people out, because platform coverage multiplies your prompt count rather than adding to it. Semrush's pricing page states a daily prompt number without saying how many platforms it spans, so you cannot do the same arithmetic before buying.

Which is cheaper?

They land close together at the entry level and diverge as you scale. Semrush Starter is $165.17 a month billed annually for 50 daily prompts. Ahrefs Lite plus the $50 Basic package is about $179 for roughly 2,500 checks a month. Above that they diverge: more volume on Semrush means moving up a plan, $248.17 then $455.67, while on Ahrefs you add packages at $50, $100 or $250 without touching your plan. If your prompt needs grow faster than your need for the rest of the suite, Ahrefs' structure costs less.

Does either publish where its AI data comes from?

Ahrefs does, and it is the strongest provenance claim in this category: 472M monthly prompts, itemised per platform and described as search-backed rather than synthetic. Note that its pricing page says 474M on the same day, so treat the figure as approximate. Semrush does not make an equivalent public statement about its prompt corpus. Provenance matters here because every tool in this market samples AI answers rather than observing them, so knowing what the sample is drawn from is most of what tells you whether to trust a number.

Should I just buy a dedicated AI visibility tracker instead?

If tracking is the job, quite possibly. Peec AI is $80 a month with unlimited seats and daily refresh across three of six models, and Otterly.AI starts at $29. Both will track more prompts than an Ahrefs bundled allowance for less money. What you give up is consolidation: a second login, a second invoice, and AI data sitting apart from the keyword and backlink data you look at daily. For teams already deep in one suite, that friction is often worth more than the price difference, which is exactly why these bundled options sell.

Still torn?

Tell us how you’d use it and we’ll tell you which of the two we’d pick.

Get a recommendation